Happiness

For the first time in a long time, I’m pretty happy with almost every aspect of my life. I can’t remember the last time I felt this good about myself with very little to complain about. Sure, at work my coworkers and I spend our planning and lunch venting about the students who drive us crazy and the stupid policies administration has set up, as well as the uncertainty of our jobs next year, but bitching about work is part of working. It eases the stress and makes you feel like you’re not a complete idiot, that everyone has the same problems you’re fighting against everyday.

But overall, I’m happy. For the first time in my life, I have a career and not just a job. I love teaching. I love coming to school and making a fool out of myself just to get a smile from students. I love getting to impart knowledge and a love of reading into students who have never enjoyed a book. I love being there for them (even when they drive me crazy) and being the one person in their life that cares about them. I love planning lessons and putting together videos and posters and activities for supplemental and kinesthetic learning opportunities.

I’m also the skinniest I’ve been in probably a decade or more. Not by much, thanks constantly-fluctuating-feminity, but I feel slimmer and healthier. I’ve cut my portion sizes down and my intake of sugar and other unnecessary substances. I generally just eat less, and when I do eat, it’s a lot of salads. I’m even considering making the jump to veganism (I’ve been a veggie for 2 years). Part of this is a direct correlation to Happiness Reason #3, but it’s mostly because I’ve been trying to be healthier and Reason #3 was simply a kick in the butt to get started. I swear I’m going to start working out soon, too… maybe some yoga…

Finally, Reason #3. The boy. It’s still super new, so I won’t go into it, but  I’m extremely happy with it and couldn’t stop smiling for days on end. Beaming.

One thought on “Happiness”

Leave a Reply

