Got the Meat Sweats? Super Summer Salad will save you!

Top Chef, and more importantly, as I haven’t watched them yet, Top Chef Masters, is now on Hulu. This means I have been more inspired to cook actual food and recipes as opposed to the standard three meals that have been my summer fare due to laziness and boyfriend’s strict diet and night-shift schedule. Coupled with my recent watching of Earthlings, I’ve also been on a stricter vegan kick than before, which is definitely a good (and healthy) thing.

So for this #MeatlessMonday (do we hashtag it even though it’s a blog? I feel so old when it comes to social media, which is ironic since my generation was the first to actually get Facebook… weird) I’m going to give you a super simple yet super delicious salad I found on Pinterest. I may be an avid watcher of Top Chef, but a chef I am not. I’m simply here to taste test recipes and share my findings with my legions of readers. Or, the 30 (on a good day) or so of you who check me out, to whom I am grateful and want to say THANK YOU for reading.

MeatlessMonday_posterSo, here we go… first #MeatlessMonday post (did I establish that was a thing yet? Probably not… Since posting my “I’m a Vegan Now!” post, I decided Mondays will be dedicated to the alternative food lifestyle I find myself in. So even if you can’t go full veggie, here are some options for your days sans meat… also, I stole this from a real thing: Meatless Monday).

Let’s try this again… I got this recipe from Kathy on LunchBoxBrunch, so no credit to me. Again, I can follow a recipe, but food creativity? Not my forte.

Arugula Salad: Mango, Macadamia, Avocado

This one was super duper easy to make, and easy to alter. I substituted arugula for baby spinach, though either would work, and I added Beyond Meat’s Grilled Strips for protein and to fill out the meal a bit. Let me tell you, as a veggie kid, I get super sick of salads. Most restaurants who say they have a “vegetarian option” mean they have a salad (or a super boring pasta dish). Great boyfriend that I have makes sure that I actually want the salad rather than being forced upon it by lack of selection before letting us order, and therein, stay.

So you’re thinking… you just said you easily get sick of salads, yet here you are, giving me a recipe for a salad…? Yes. Because this one was That Awesome. Maybe I’m just missing out on some great salads (it’s hard to buy and use all the ingredients before they go bad since boyfriend won’t eat salads and after three days, I don’t want the same salad again either), but this one rocked my world. I actually looked forward to the leftovers and bought the ingredients again this week.

Don’t skip the dressing.

IMG_2023

Arugula Salad: Mango, Macadamia, Avocado
inspired by Dole’s Salad Summit – makes one giant bowl

1 large mango, cubed
1 avocado, diced
3/4 cup macadamia nuts, roasted/salted
5 cups fresh arugula

optional add-in’s: sweet onions, diced apple, diced pineapple … more

dressing (or use your own recipe):
1/4 cup lemon juice
2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup olive oil
1 Tbsp Dijon mustard
1 tsp agave syrup
pepper
dash garlic powder

2 thoughts on “Got the Meat Sweats? Super Summer Salad will save you!”

  1. Great post and great dish Rebecca! We think you may have created the next tagline: “Beyond Meat. Real Meat. No Meat Sweats.”

    We do know you created a great looking dish and props to you following Kathy’s recipe. She does some great dishes and is a great resource for mealtime inspiration.

    Thanks again for the support and we look forward to following along with your plant-based adventures in the future!

    Like

Leave a Reply

