The Raven Boys | Review

cover_ravenboys_300

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

I’m not really sure about this book. I’m both intrigued and bored at the same time.

There’s a weird energy in the town of Henrietta, Virginia. Blue is the daughter of a psychic who has been forewarned that if she kisses her soul mate, he’ll die. Gansey is an eccentric rich kid who loves almost-broken things and has an obsession with discovering a the answers to an ancient legend. His friends, the makeup of the Raven Boys, are Adam, Noah, and Ronan, each with his own troubles and need to find the answer to Gansey’s mystery. The Raven Boys and Blue come together and awaken secret supernatural elements of their town.

The characters (at least the main ones), I liked. They each had specific wants and needs, and after the initial who’s-who with all the boy names floating about, each boy emerged as his own unique character. I didn’t love all of Blue’s family members, because they tended to run together a bit more, and they had a lot of secrets they weren’t sharing. Despite having a name like Blue, Blue didn’t really stand out all that much. She dressed weirdly and decorated her room with odd assortments, but I didn’t really see that in how she interacted with others, particularly the Raven Boys. When she was around them, it felt like she was a prop, or all their energy just suffocated hers (which was supposed to be super powerful, so… awkward?).

I liked the intrigue and the descriptions. I could see the changing seasons in Cabeswater very clearly, and I kept reading, wanting to know what would happen.

raven_boys_by_judilda-d7ttmrdExcept I didn’t always want to. This book took me a lot longer to read than it should have, but paranormal/ghost stories aren’t really my thing. Like I said, the characters and the intrigue were enjoyable, but the plot wasn’t. I didn’t care about Gansey’s search for Glendower or the ley line, which, as the center of the plot, is kind of a big deal. The mystery surrounding Noah was enjoyable, but then felt too contrived and weird, and I don’t feel like there was enough foreshadowing, though I may have just missed it.

I wanted to know what would happen to Gansey and Blue, what Ronan discovered about his father, and if Adam would step out of Gansey’s shadow, but the search for a long-missing Welsh king? Eh. It didn’t seem worth the risk of death.

There are three other books scheduled in the Raven Cycle (the next two, Dream Thieves and Blue Lily, Lily Blue, are already out, and the final book, The Raven King, is scheduled for release in September). I haven’t decided yet if I’ll read them or not, though curiosity will probably win out over annoyance.

2 thoughts on “The Raven Boys | Review”

  1. I read the first two books a while ago and my friend is now also on the second book. We both agreed that the second was much better than the first, if that helps. I didn’t go onto the third because I was no longer interested in how it ended. Might pick it up again this year, though. We’ll see 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely adore the Raven-Cycle! But I kinda get your point… I’ve given this book to so many people and none of them liked it! Have you read on? And have you read any of Maggie Stiefvater’s other books?

    Like

Leave a Reply

