Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy | Review

11

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

I’ve come to realize I definitely prefer more fantasy to sci-fi (except in the case of Red Rising, which isn’t a true sci-fi anyway), and that remains the case with Hitchhiker.

Arthur Dent is a normal human whose house is about to be demolished. Ford Prefect is an alien hitchhiker, working on the guidebook, A Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, and has been stranded on earth for the past 15 years. When Earth is demolished by some bureaucratic aliens, Arthur and Ford are the only two to escape.

The first in a five-part series (“trilogy”), Hitchhiker sets up the characters and this vast universe in a funny, entertaining way, with satirical philosophy and absurdity thrown in as well.

the_hitchhikers_guide_to_the_galaxyWhile I enjoyed the story, I didn’t love it. It read like a serial of the week, with the characters getting in and out of trouble each chapter, only to be thrown into another one. As this started as a radio broadcast, however, it makes total and complete sense.

I liked the concept of the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, the guidebook within the book, which helps explain the nuances and complexities of this world in an unique and less info-dumpy kind of way.

The importance of Earth in this story was also really intriguing, and I was a big fan of how Adams incorporated that, as well as the spin on the Ultimate Question. To take the complexity and search for the meaning of life and pair it with sillyness and strife is quite a statement.

While I appreciated some of the more accurate observations about humanity, I didn’t love this book as so many others do. That being said, I’m going to give the audiobooks a listen for the rest of this 5 book trilogy.

2 thoughts on “Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy | Review”

  1. You should check out the TV series from the 80s. I saw that before I ever read the book and it was hilarious! So Brit and so off-the-wall. Not great literature but just crazy and funny. Of course maybe I just don’t quite remember it exactly… I am thinking I need to go back and see the movies/TV and read the books that I remember as being particularly good or funny from my youth. Trust…but verify!

    Like

  2. – The 6-episode audio presentation is the way to go.
    – The TV series is also rather brilliant IF you can get past the “special” effects, and the less-than-spot-on casting of Trillian.
    – Books 1-3 are fine, though not as good as the audio presentation. Avoid books 4 and 5 – even Adams thought they were weak.

    Like

Leave a Reply

