Someday, Someday, Maybe | Review

16071745

Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham

Someday, Someday, Maybe is Gilmore Girls actress Lauren Graham’s debut novel about a mid-twenties girl in 90s New York who has set a deadline for herself, by which time she needs to be “successful” as an actress.

Graham used many of her own experiences as a struggling actress in New York in the 90s, but in a cute, well-crafted way.

Franny, named after Salinger’s Franny and Zooey and exhibiting many of the same characteristics (a point made in the novel), is not the average bimbo actress trying to make money and be the face of a perfume; she wants to work in theater, she’s intelligent and funny, and she’s not a twig, she only wants to look like one.

She’s lacking in confidence, both in her looks and her talent, yet when she is put on the spot, she oozes with it. You can’t help but root for her to land a gig and be successful.

Lauren-Graham-041713Since this is chick lit, there’s an obvious love triangle, but Graham is very tongue in cheek with it, as Franny and the right-for-her “friend” go to a chick flick matinee and have a discussion afterwards regarding love triangles. Frannie is upset by the movie because she sees her own life reflected back on her, and spouts off about how love triangles aren’t believable because they’re not real, that love shouldn’t just come in triangles but other shapes as well. It’s at this point her “friend” reveals that a love triangle is just a way to show different sides of a character and make an internal dilemma dramatic. I agree wholeheartedly with both points of view in this argument (I’ve made that same Shape argument myself, though I wasn’t in a love shape at the time), and I found the whole situation ironic and enlightening at the same time.

I could hear Graham’s voice when reading this (and only after finishing did I learn she narrates the audiobook! So disappointed!), and the snippy comebacks and klutzy situations had me chuckling.

The structure of the novel was also enjoyable, as it had Franny’s ever-present Filofax pages inserted as a method of catching the reader up on weeks of events or the emotions of Franny, and many chapters started with her voicemail messages, a true sign of the times.

I picked up this novel for a few reasons. One being it was written by Lauren Graham, whom I love on Gilmore Girls and Parenthood; I find her incredibly funny, witty, and beautiful and was interested in reading her writing. Two being it sounded similar to my own experience post-college, trying to make it in the Film world, albeit in LA rather than NY. I love stories set in and around the “industry” and I could appreciate a lot of what Franny was going through. I wasn’t trying to be an actress, but the struggle is the same.

Sure, it’s chick lit, it’s predictable and isn’t groundbreaking in any way, but it’s fun, funny, and an enjoyable read.

One thought on “Someday, Someday, Maybe | Review”

  1. When I first read it, I couldn’t get into it. Then I picked it up a few weeks later and flew through it. It’s a cute & fun read and I loved hearing her voice throughout. Nice review! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

