Rat Queens Volume 2: The Far Reaching Tentacles of N’rygoth | Review

RatQueensV2_Cover

Rat Queens Volume 2: The Far Reaching Tentacles of N’rygoth by Kurtis J Wiebe, Roc Upchurch, and Stjepan Sejic

I don’t know what happened, but Volume 2 was a major disappointment for me. I gave the first volume 4 stars, but this one, I almost didn’t finish. The only reason I did finish was because it’s a graphic novel and finishing the read would take less than an hour.

The first installment introduced spunky female characters of all types and sizes, and I loved that. I loved seeing these badass females slaying those in their paths, I loved that they were flawed and real, and inappropriately funny. But this time, it just felt tired. I didn’t even crack a smile. They weren’t as spunky as much as they were complaining, and while I enjoying reading more about their backstories (Violet is my favorite), I just… didn’t care.

I didn’t care about the main plotline at all, and since it’d been half a year since I’d read Volume 1, I’d forgotten most of the characters and story, so maybe that was part of what hindered my enjoyment, but I just didn’t feel the spark. Many of the jumps between chapters were odd and confusing, and there were a few times I had to flip back to make sure I hadn’t missed anything.

Maybe I just wasn’t in the mood for it, but Volume 2 definitely was more Rat than Queen.

2/5 stars

One thought on “Rat Queens Volume 2: The Far Reaching Tentacles of N’rygoth | Review”

  1. I agree this one wasn’t as great as the first but I didn’t mind much how the story continues in this installment. What I didn’t like was the style change for the illustrations. The ladies are all sharp edges in this one whereas in the first, they all have curves even if they aren’t curvy.
    I preferred Vi’s backstory as well but I like Dee’s story of her questioning her religion.

    Like

Leave a Reply

